Council invites views on its Draft Growth Strategy

Growth strategy front cover

An eight-week public consultation has been launched on Bexley’s draft Growth Strategy. The Council is hoping as many people as possible will take the opportunity to find about its plans for growth and give their views.

“This is our manifesto for growth,” says Gill Steward, the Council’s Chief Executive. “Increasing demand for housing and land is already having an impact on the borough. The Growth Strategy will put us in control, so we can ensure that the change that happens benefits the borough and our residents.”

Consultation on the strategy will run from 18 May to 14 July.

“As well as giving us their comments, this is a chance for everyone interested in how the borough will grow in the future to read about our plans and learn about the opportunities we aim to create,” said Jane Richardson, Assistant Chief Executive for Regeneration and Growth. “It’s also a chance to ask questions about the strategy and debate the issues involved.”

A series of roadshows on the Strategy will take place around the borough to raise awareness of the consultation and encourage people to give their views –

  • Saturday 10 June, 12 noon to 4pm – Erith Riverside Shopping Centre
  • Tuesday 13 June, 3pm to 7pm – Crook Log Leisure Centre, Bexleyheath
  • Thursday 15 June, 3pm to 4pm – Mobile van outside Belvedere Junior School
  • Thursday 15 June, 4pm to 7pm – Mobile van on Station Road, Belvedere
  • Tuesday 20 June, 3pm to 7pm – Morrison’s superstore, Erith
  • Thursday 22 June, 12 noon to 4pm – Welling Library
  • Saturday 24 June, 12 noon to 4pm – Sidcup Library
  • Wednesday 28 June, 3pm to 7pm – Crayford Library
  • Thursday 29 June, 9am to 9pm – Bexleyheath Shopping Centre, Bexleyheath
  • Saturday 1 July, 9am to 6pm – Bexleyheath Shopping Centre, Bexleyheath
  • Monday 3 July, 3pm to 7pm – Sidcup Leisure Centre
  • Wednesday 5 July, 12pm to 4pm – Thames Innovation Centre, Belvedere
  • Thursday 6 July, 3pm to 7pm - Slade Green Community Centre
  • Tuesday 11 July, 12pm to 4pm – Parkview Community Hub, Thamesmead

A summary version of the Draft Growth Strategy has been produced that includes details of how to have your say.

Printed copies of the full Strategy can be viewed at Council Offices and libraries, or on the Growth Strategy page.

A wide range of individuals and organisations will be sent details of the consultation, from local residents, landowners, businesses and local organisations, to other public bodies and interest groups.