School term dates 2020 to 2021

Recommended school term and holiday dates for community, voluntary controlled and community special schools.

These dates do not apply to Academies or voluntary aided and free schools. You should always check with your child's school before making holiday commitments.

Autumn term

  • Wednesday 2 September to Friday 23 October 2020
  • Half term: Monday 26 October to Friday 30 October 2020 
  • Monday 2 November to Friday 18 December 2020

Spring term

  • Monday 4 January to Friday 12 February 2021
  • Half term: Monday 15 February to Friday 19 February 2021
  • Monday 22 February to Wednesday 31 March 2021

Summer term

  • Monday 19 April to Friday 28 May 2021 (the early May bank holiday will be taken on 3 May)
  • Half term: Monday 31 May to Friday 4 June 2021
  • Monday 7 June to Friday 23 July 2021

Public holidays 

  • Christmas Day: Friday 25 December 2020
  • Boxing Day: Saturday 26 December 2020
  • New Year’s Day: Friday 1 January 2021
  • Good Friday: Friday 2 April 2021
  • Easter Monday: Monday 5 April 2021
  • Early May bank holiday: Monday 3 May 2021
  • Spring bank holiday: Monday 31 May 2021
  • Summer bank holiday: Monday 30 August 2021