School term dates 2022 to 2023

Recommended school term and holiday dates for community, voluntary controlled and community special schools.

These dates do not apply to Academies or voluntary aided and free schools. You should always check with your child's school before making holiday commitments.

Autumn term

  • Thursday 1 September to Friday 21 October 2022
  • Half term: Monday 24 October to Friday 28 October 2022
  • Monday 31 October to Friday 16 December 2022

Spring term

  • Tuesday 3 January to Friday 10 February 2023
  • Half term: Monday 13 February to Friday 17 February 2023
  • Monday 20 February to Friday 31 March 2023

Summer term

  • Monday 17 April to Friday 26 May 2023
  • Half term: Monday 29 May to Friday 2 June 2023
  • Monday 5 June to Friday 21 July 2023

UK bank holidays 2022 to 2023

Bank holidays 2022

26 December Monday Boxing Day
27 December Tuesday Christmas Day (substitute day)

Bank holidays 2023

2 January Monday New Year’s Day (substitute day)
7 April Friday Good Friday
10 April Monday Easter Monday
1 May Monday Early May bank holiday
29 May Monday Spring bank holiday
28 August Monday Summer bank holiday
25 December Monday Christmas Day
26 December Tuesday Boxing Day

Source: UK bank holidays - GOV.UK