Conservation and Heritage

Bexley’s Development Plan contains planning policies and guidance related to conservation and heritage in the borough.

These policies aim to protect Bexley’s most important heritage assets and ensure that new development respects local context and character, at the same time as creating buildings and places that make Bexley a great place to live and work. 

Bexley has over 150 listed buildings and structures, around 400 locally listed buildings and structures, 23 conservation areas, four registered historic parks and gardens, and four scheduled ancient monuments. They are all protected by conservation and heritage legislation.

Statutorily listed buildings and structures

Statutory listed buildings are protected by legislation in the Planning (Listed Buildings Conservation Areas) Act 1990.

These are buildings, objects or structures considered to be of special architectural or historic interest at a national level, which need to be preserved for future generations.

The list is compiled by the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, based on advice from Historic England.

You can get more information and advice on statutory listed buildings from Historic England - Listing.

Alterations to a statutory listed building

If you intend to alter or demolish part or all of a statutory listed building or structure, you must apply for Listed Building Consent as part of your planning application.

* These files may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format

Locally listed buildings and structures

Locally listed buildings have historic or architectural merit and are protected by local planning policy.

Bexley compiles and maintains a list of local buildings and other structures of special historic or architectural interest in the borough.

You can get more information and advice on locally listed buildings from Historic England - Local Designation.

* These files may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format

Conservation areas

Conservation areas are places with special architectural or historic interest, which deserve careful management to protect that character. Bexley has 23 conservation areas across the borough. Special controls apply to buildings in these areas. Each conservation area has an area appraisal and management plan.

You can get more information and advice from Historic England - Conservation areas.

* These files may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format

Article 4 directions

Several Article 4 directions are in force in Bexley that limit the amount of development that can take place without planning permission within some Conservation Areas. Further information can be found on Article 4 Directions

Historic parks and gardens

Parks and gardens of special historic interest are included on the register of Historic Parks and Gardens. The register is maintained by Historic England. This status recognises their value and is a material consideration in planning applications.

There are four registered historic parks and gardens in Bexley.

  • Lamorbey Park, Sidcup Grade II
  • Danson Park, Bexleyheath Grade II
  • Hall Place, Bexley Grade II
  • Foots Cray Place, Sidcup Grade II

View the Register of Historic Parks and Gardens.

Scheduled ancient monuments

A scheduled monument is a nationally important archaeological site or historic building, given protection against unapproved change. Scheduled Monument Consent (SMC) is needed for any works affecting these monuments.

There are four scheduled Ancient Monuments in Bexley:

  • Faesten Dic, Joydens Wood, Bexley
  • Lesnes Abbey, Abbey Road, Abbey Wood
  • Hall Place, Bourne Road, Bexley
  • Howbury Moated Side, Moat Lane, Slade Green

View guidance on scheduled Ancient Monuments.

Please email with any queries.


Bexley has a wealth of archaeological remains, which represent a storehouse of historical information, including evidence of the evolution of development and settlements in the borough.

An Archaeological Priority Area (APA) is a defined area where, according to existing information, there is significant known archaeological interest or particular potential for new discoveries. APAs highlight where important archaeological interest might be located based on the history of the area and previous archaeological investigations. They help local planning authorities to manage archaeological remains that might be affected by development by providing an evidence base for local plans. There are 23 APAs identified in Bexley, and the document below sets out planning guidance that should be considered when implementing the policies of the Bexley Local Plan.