Current Mayor

An image of the Mayor Cllr Sue Gower MBE JP and Mr Darren Tobin as Mayor’s Consort

Bexley's New Mayor is Cllr Sue Gower MBE JP and Mr Darren Tobin is the Mayor’s Consort

Councillor Gower moved to Bexley in 1984 and has deep roots in the community. Her sons, daughter and grandson were all born in Bexley and attended local schools, as did her husband.

Councillor Gower has been a dedicated public servant, having served as a local Justice of the Peace since 2000. She was elected as Councillor for Bexleyheath Ward in 2018, served as Deputy Mayor in 2020-21, and was the Cabinet Member for Communities and Housing from 2021-2024.

In 2009, Councillor Gower was honoured with an MBE for her voluntary service to disabled children and young people in Bexley. She continues to be an active supporter of the local community. Alongside her mayoral duties, she works as a Local Government Officer and is also an Independent Celebrant.

The Mayor appointed Councillor Lisa-Jane Moore, who represents Longlands Ward, as her Deputy Mayor and Mr Justin Moore as her Consort. The Mayor has appointed Mr Paul Weston from New Generation Church as her Chaplain.

The Mayor has announced that she will be working throughout her Mayoral year to raise funds for the local charity, ‘Counselling Matters Bexley’ and supporting other local charities and good causes throughout the year.

Twitter messages