Upcoming elections

Bexley's Acting Returning Officer administers all national and local government elections held in the borough. The different types of an election are:

UK Parliamentary General

There are three Members of Parliament (MPs) elected to represent Bexley; in the Bexleyheath and Crayford, Erith and Thamesmead and Old Bexley and Sidcup parliamentary constituencies. Part of the Erith and Thamesmead constituency is in the London Borough of Greenwich local authority area.

The last general election was held on 12 December 2019.

London Borough of Bexley

45 councillors are elected across the 17 electoral wards of the borough. The next elections are due to take place on Thursday 5 May 2022.

Mayor of London and London Assembly

A Mayor is elected to represent the whole of London. Greater London Assembly, 25 London Assembly Members are elected. 14 represent a constituency area (in Bexley's case, that constituency is called Bexley and Bromley) and 11 are elected on a London-wide basis.

The next election will take place Thursday 6 May 2021.

In addition, by-elections can take place at any time to fill a vacancy caused by an elected representative resigning, dying or becoming disqualified from office.

Longlands Ward by-election

Following the resignation of Councillor Gareth Bacon, there will be a by-election on Thursday 6 May 2021 in Longlands Ward, which is the same day as the Greater London Authority Elections.


Election expenses

For UK Parliamentary and local government elections, details of election expenses must be submitted to the Returning Officer, or to the Proper Officer of the council for local government elections, within thirty-five days after the election result is declared.

Election expenses returns are available for public inspection on request.

For more information (9am to 5pm Monday to Friday):