The London Borough of Bexley is divided into various electoral areas, which relate to different election types.

London Borough of Bexley

For elections to the London Borough of Bexley, the borough is divided into 17 electoral wards. The ward names are:

  • Barnehurst
  • Belvedere
  • Bexleyheath
  • Blackfen and Lamorbey
  • Blendon and Penhill
  • Crayford
  • Crook Log
  • East Wickham
  • Erith
  • Falconwood and Welling
  • Longlands
  • Northumberland Heath
  • Sidcup
  • Slade Green and Northend
  • St Mary's and St James
  • Thamesmead East
  • West Heath

The Local Government Boundary Commission is responsible for reviewing local government ward boundaries. The last boundary change was implemented in 2018.

London Mayor

One Mayor is elected to represent London, so the London Borough of Bexley is part of the London electoral area.

Greater London Assembly

Eleven Members of the Greater London Assembly are elected from the votes cast across the whole of London, so for this part of the election, the London Borough of Bexley is part of the London electoral area.

However, the other 14 Assembly Members are elected to represent constituencies, of which one is Bexley and Bromley. The Bromley Returning Officer is responsible for the administration of the election of the member for the Bexley and Bromley constituency, which comprises the areas of the London Borough of Bexley and the London Borough of Bromley.

UK Parliament

The London Borough of Bexley has three parliamentary constituencies.

Bexleyheath and Crayford

Comprised of the Barnehurst, Bexleyheath, Crayford, and Crook Log wards.

Erith and Thamesmead

Comprised of the Belvedere, Erith, Northumberland Heath, Slade Green and Northend, Thamesmead East and West Heath wards, together with the Abbey Wood, Plumstead and Thamesmead Moorings wards of the London Borough of Greenwich.

Old Bexley and Sidcup

Comprised of the Blackfen and Lamorbey, Blendon and Penhill, East Wickham, Falconwood and Welling, Longlands, St. Mary's and St James and Sidcup wards.

The Boundary Commission for England is responsible for conducting a general review of all parliamentary constituency boundaries every eight to twelve years. The arrangements shown above came into force in 2018.

European Parliament

Eight Members of the European Parliament are elected to represent the whole of London, so the London Borough of Bexley is part of the London electoral region.

Polling districts and polling places

The London Borough of Bexley is required to divide its area into polling districts and to designate polling places for each of those districts. When doing so, the council must seek to ensure that:

  • all electors have such reasonable facilities for voting as are practicable and
  • the arrangements meet the accessibility needs of all electors, including those of disabled persons, as are practicable

The council is required by law to undertake a review of all polling districts and polling places every four years.